U of A University of Arkansas Division of Agriculture Research and Extension University of Arkansas System

Pictures of chickens, flowers, wheat, a boy looking through a magnifying glass, irrigation pipe, soybean pods, and fruits and vegetables.

Cooperative Extension Service

Cooperative Extension Service

Agricultural Experiment Station

Search | Publications | Jobs | Personnel Directory | Links
County Offices | Departments

About Us

Find Us

For the Media


Business & Communities

Arkansas Procurement
      Assistance Center

Public Policy Center
Visioning and
      Strategic Planning

Volunteer Organizations


Families & Consumers

Health & Nutrition

Home & Garden

Natural Resources

4-H Youth Development

Public Policy Center

For Faculty & Staff


Dale Bumpers College
of Agricultural, Food &
Life Sciences

Division Home

Agricultural Experiment
      Station Home

Cooperative Extension
      Service Home


County Profiles - 2006

The University of Arkansas Cooperative Extension Service, with support from the Association of Arkansas Counties, publishes a county profile for each of Arkansas’ 75 counties to provide community leaders with a single source of information on the salient trends and conditions that affect the well-being of Arkansans. The County Economic Profiles provide a snapshot of Arkansas counties, a comparison among counties, and an overview of the demographic, economic and social trends in Arkansas’ counties.

The information was compiled to provide a tool for development workers, local leaders and community members to understand current trends and plan for their future. The information is presented in graphs and maps to allow the reader to quickly grasp trends and current conditions. It is hoped that this publication will stimulate discussion and raise questions. People knowledgeable about the local geography, culture and political environment are needed to provide insight into local conditions and to use this information to plan wisely.

Please select the county of your choice below for profile information.  Counties are listed alphabetically. 

Arkansas Counties
Arkansas Ashley Baxter
Benton Boone Bradley
Calhoun Carroll Chicot
Clark Clay Cleburne
Cleveland Columbia Conway
Craighead Crawford Crittenden
Cross Dallas Desha
Drew Faulkner Franklin
Fulton Garland Grant
Greene Hempstead Hot Spring
Howard Independence Izard
Jackson Jefferson Johnson
Lafayette Lawrence Lee
Lincoln Little River Logan
Lonoke Madison Marion
Miller Mississippi Monroe
Montgomery Nevada Newton
Ouachita Perry Phillips
Pike Poinsett Polk
Pope Prairie Pulaski
Randolph St. Francis Saline
Scott Searcy Sebastian
Sevier Sharp Stone
Union Van Buren Washington
White Woodruff Yell

Prepared by:

Dr. Wayne Miller, Professor Cooperative Extension Service University of Arkansas
Ben Olson, University of Wisconsin Student, Political Science Department

Published by:

Cooperative Extension Service, University of Arkansas
Association of Arkansas Counties

To read and access our information you must have Adobe Acrobat Reader loaded on your computer.  ToGet Acrobat Reader Button download this free program select the "Get Acrobat Reader" icon. Once you have Acrobat Reader loaded on your computer, just select the file you wish to read.

This presentation is inherently visual in nature and cannot be effectively communicated in a non-visual manner. With the passing of the federal law Section 508 and the Arkansas Information Technology Access for the Blind Law (Act 1227 of 1999) it has become imperative that all agencies be compliant with these laws. If you require assistance with interpreting the material presented in this document, please contact the University of Arkansas Division of Agriculture webmaster.

University of Arkansas
Division of Agriculture
All rights reserved.
Last Date Modified 02/29/2012

University of Arkansas • Division of Agriculture
Cooperative Extension Service
2301 South University Avenue
Little Rock, Arkansas 72204 • USA
Phone (501) 671-2000 • Fax (501) 671-2209